Online Shop
Useful Links
Past Issues
May's Hockey Happenings

February's Hockey Happenings

January's Hockey Happenings

more »
Official sponsors and supporters

Logo - OCI
Logo - ISC
Sport Northern Irelandv2

Irish Hockey League

UCD Crest
Malone names Electric Ireland U18's Irish Women's Squad

The tournament, running as part of The Gathering, will feature the cream of European Women's Hockey including Germany, Netherlands, Belgium, England, Russia, France and Wales as well as Malone's Ireland team who will be keen to impress on home turf.

Malone's squad will be captained by Loreto player Jessica McGirr with Lurgan girl Hannah Grieve acting as vice-captain for the squad. There is one goalkeeping spot in the squad still to be confirmed and this will happen following this weekend's games in England.

The Electric Ireland U18 Irish Women's team have been drawn in Pool A along with hockey superpower Netherlands, France and our close neighbours Wales. The Green Army will kick off their campaign vs. Wales on Monday 29th July 2013 at 5pm and then face The Netherlands at 5pm the following day before wrapping up their Pool games vs. France at 1pm on Thursday 1st August 2013. Based on their final Pool positions all 8 teams will feature in a crossover day on Saturday 3rd August with the top two teams from each pool game playing off in two exciting semi-finals for a place in the showpiece Electric Ireland U18 Women's EuroHockey Championships Final on Sunday 4th August 2013.

Speaking to  Malone said "It's exciting to be involved with such a talented group of  players, who have worked extremely hard in recent months, the opportunity to represent your country in always special but the chance to play in a home European's in front of all your friends and family is something extra special. As we head into the English series next weekend myself and my management team are really excited to see how we grow as a group and progress as our preparations for the Europeans in July continue."

Electric Ireland U18 Irish Women's Squad

1. Elaine Carey (Colaiste Iognaid/Galway Hockey Club)
2. Emma Duncan (Kilkenny College/Old Alexandra)
3. Aisling Cronin (Loretto Wexford/Wexford Hockey Club)
4. Abby Oakes (Mount Mercy/Cork Harlequins)
5. Rachel Gray (Alexandra College/Old Alexandra)
6. Millie O'Donnell (Alexandra College/Old Alexandra)
7. Amber Gleeson (Alexandra College/Old Alexandra)
8. Sarah Hawkshaw (Mount Sackville/Railway Union)
9. Jessica McGirr (Loreto Beaufort/ Loreto)
10. Claire Foley (St Gerards/Pembroke)
11. Sarah Twomey (Mount Anville/Hermes Hockey Club)
12. Ayeisha McFerran (Larne Grammar/Randalstown)
13. Robyn Chambers (Rainey Endowed/Ballymoney)
14. Hannah Grieve (Lurgan College/Lurgan)
15. Ruth Maguire (Larne Grammar/Ulster Elks)
16. Zara Thom (Methodist College Belfast/Harlequins)
17. Emma Kernaghan (Ballymena Academy)
18. To be confirmed

Early bird season tickets for the Electric Ireland U18 Women's EuroHockey Championships  are now available on

Newsletter Marketing Powered by Newsweaver